Rename User While Retaining the Old User Name: Riva Sync

Article ID: 1872
Last updated: 06 Feb, 2019

In Riva 2.4.52 or higher, it may sometimes be convenient to retain an old user name even after renaming it and remapping the metadata to the new name. it is possible to do so without increasing the license count.
 

To rename a user while retaining the old user name:

  1. Start the Riva Manager application.

  2. In the right pane, right-click the policy and select Disable.

  3. Double-click the policy to edit it.

  4. On the General page, select add >> and add the new user.

  5. Configure the following advanced option:

    Reinit.Rename.NamesDictionary old1=new1,old2=new2,etc., where old1, new1, and etc. are the user names. There is no space after a comma, and the = signs are required.

    Note: It is possible to process multiple user renames, but for clarity, the rest of the procedure is written as if only one user was renamed.

  6. On the Advanced Options page, select First Sync Re-init. In the window that appears, do as follows:

    1. Select the Enable First Sync Re-init check box.
    2. In the Modules field, select All.
    3. In the Category field, select Maintenance.
    4. In the Type field, select Rename User.
    5. Select OK.
       
  7. Select Save to save the sync policy.

  8. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select About Riva. In the About Riva window that appears, near the top right corner, double-click the version number.

    Result: Windows Explorer displays the installed files of the version of Riva that is used.

    At the next step, be very sure to leave the *.license files alone. Note that the extension, .license, is in the singular. Do not delete any file with that extension in the singular.

  9. In Windows Explorer, navigate to the Licenses folder and open it. Navigate to the *.licensees file (note the final "s" of *.licensees) that corresponds to the old user. Double-check that the extension, .licensees, is in the plural. Delete the file.

    Results: The old user will not be synced. The license count is not increased. (It remains the same as before you added the new user name.)

  10. In the Riva Manager application, in the right pane, right-click the policy and select Enable.

    Results during the next sync cycle:

    • The new user name is detected.

    • A *.licensees file (note the plural of the extension) is created for the new user name.

    • The transactions metadata file is renamed from matching the old name to matching the new name.

    • The old user name is retained. (If need be, the new user can eventually be remapped to the old user.)

    • The regular sync cycle process takes place, for both the new user and all the other users (except the old user).



Article ID: 1872
Last updated: 06 Feb, 2019
Revision: 2
Views: 50
Prev     Next
Automate the Onboarding Process for New Riva Syncing Users       Manage Target Users - GroupWise


Back to Top