Do Not Run Riva CRM Integration Twice Against the Same User

Article ID: 105
Last updated: 27 Mar, 2017

Background

Some clients would like to use Riva Cloud to test functionality before installing Riva On-Premise. Do not configure the same email and CRM user combination in more than one instance of Riva at the same time.

Explanation

Data duplication occurs when both of the following conditions exist:

  • A Riva Cloud account is created for an email user and CRM user combination, for example user@email.com in the target email system sync to and from user@email.com in the target CRM system.
  • Adding the same email user and CRM user combination (user@email.com in the target email system sync to and from user@email.com in the target CRM system) to a Riva CRM sync policy on a Riva On-Premise server.

In effect, there will be two instances of Riva trying to synchronize the same user combination at the same time.

Expected Challenges

Here is an example of some of the problems that may be experienced:

  • If the Riva Cloud sync policy and the Riva On-Premise policy for the same user combination use the same Category and folder names, then errors will be reported for each attempt to sync data between the email system and the CRM system.

  • If the Riva Cloud sync policy and the Riva On-Premise policy for the same user combination use different Category and folder names (for example, "My Sync (Cloud)" for Riva Cloud and "My Sync (On-Premise)" for Riva On-Premise, data will sync, but multiple instances of the same CRM data will appear in the email account. For example, there would be two identical instances of a contact in the email client for a single instance of a contact in the CRM; there would be two identical instances of a calendar appointment in the email client for a single instance of a calendar appointment in the CRM. What makes each instance unique in the email system is the assignment of a unique category name to the item.

  • If "Sync all items" is enabled in either or both of the sync policies, then duplicate records for the same item are created in the CRM.

Best Practice

If you plan to configure a email user and CRM user combination for a Riva Cloud or Riva On-Premise policy, DO NOT configure a duplicate instance of that user email / category / CRM combination in another Riva Cloud or Riva On-Premise policy.

Steps for Exchange accounts: If you are using Riva Cloud to test and then decide to move forward with Riva On-Premise, use the following steps:

  1. Disable the sync policy for that user in Riva Cloud.

  2. Contact the Riva Success Team, and ask us to delete the Riva Cloud connections and account.

  3. In the Outlook client:

    • View contacts and leads by category (or CRM address book if that option was configured). Remove all contacts and leads generated by Riva.
    • View the calendar appointments by Category, and then remove all calendar items generated by Riva.
    • View the tasks by category and then remove all task items generated by Riva.
    • Remove from the mailbox the "CRM" SmartConvert / AssignTo folder structure generated by Riva.
    • Remove all the Riva-generated categories from the Master Category List.
  4. Add the user to the appropriate Riva On-Premise sync policy.

    The initial sync will recreate fresh copies of the data that was removed at step 3.

Steps for GroupWise accounts: When testing has been completed for a email user and CRM user combination in Riva Cloud and you plan to migrate that user to a Riva On-Premise server, use the following best practice steps:

  1. Disable the sync policy for that user in Riva Cloud.

  2. Contact the Riva Success Team, and ask us to delete the Riva Cloud account.

  3. In the GroupWise client:

    • Remove the CRM address book generated by Riva.
    • Remove the CRM | Leads address book generated by Riva.
    • Remove the CRM sub-calendar generated by Riva.
    • Remove from the mailbox the "CRM" SmartConvert / AssignTo folder structure generated by Riva.
  4. Add the email user and CRM user combination as an assignment to the Riva On-Premise sync policy.

    The initial sync will recreate fresh copies of the data that was removed at step 3.



Article ID: 105
Last updated: 27 Mar, 2017
Revision: 10
Views: 12769
Also read
item How to Bulk Manage User Mailboxes Assigned to a Riva Sync Policy

Also listed in
folder Riva On-Premise - CRM Sync -> Manage Riva On-Premise (Admin Guides) -> Troubleshooting (Includes Monitoring) -> Resolving Data Sync Issues
folder Riva On-Premise - CRM Sync -> Manage Riva On-Premise (Admin Guides) -> Manage the Riva Server -> Manage Target Users
folder Riva On-Premise - CRM Sync -> Manage Riva On-Premise (Admin Guides) -> Manage the Riva Server
folder Riva On-Premise - CRM Sync -> Manage Riva On-Premise (Admin Guides) -> Manage the Riva Server -> Manage Target Users - GroupWise
folder Riva On-Premise - CRM Sync -> Get Started with Riva On-Premise -> Planning & Design

Prev     Next
Configure Your Sync Policy       Create a Sync Policy for Exchange: Riva Cloud


Back to Top