This article applies to Riva 2.4.35 through Riva 2.4.46. For a much simpler process, see Dry Run Mode in Riva 2.4.47 or higher.
In some circumstances, reconfiguring Riva can affect data sync for existing target users. Before enabling a sync policy after making changes, Riva administrators can run Riva in "Dry Run Mode" to determine if there will be data sync issues.
Sometimes, changing a CRM connection or email system connection affects the existing users' visibility into previously synced items; specifically, previously synced data may be mass deleted or additional copies of previously synced data may be mass created.
Dry Run Mode
In Riva 2.4.35 through 2.4.46, an advanced option can be applied to a sync policy to run in "Dry Run Mode". It is typically used when
When "Dry Run Mode" is enabled, sync processes run as normally, except that all data operations are skipped:
To enable Dry Run Mode:
To disable Dry Run Mode:
Warning: Riva will write changes to the transaction records while in dry-run mode, but it will not change the data in the CRM or email system. For this reason, if dry-run mode is enabled, the transaction records need to be reset back to pre-dry-run mode before disabling dry run mode and enabling normal sync. If you are not comfortable with these procedures, contact the Riva Success Team and ask for assistance.
Use the following procedures to use the "dry run mode" advanced options.