Move Target Exchange or Notes Users to another Sync Policy Using Different Category Names

Article ID: 455
Last updated: 01 Feb, 2017

Riva supports running multiple CRM sync policies at the same time. It is common for enterprise Riva administrators to create and manage CRM sync policies to meet the unique data sync needs for specific groups of target users, for example a sync policy for internal users and a different sync policy for mobile users.

In this article:

  • the source CRM sync policy is the policy that the users to be moved are currently assigned to.

  • the target CRM sync policy is the policy that the users will be moved to.

These procedures should be used to move users between source and target CRM sync policies when the category names in both sync policies are different. If the category names in both sync policies are identical, refer to the steps in Move target Exchange or Notes users to another sync policy using identical category names. If you need to move users to a new CRM sync policy, refer to the steps in Move target email users to a duplicate sync policy.

Scenario

For this scenario, a user is being provided with a smart phone and tablet device and needs Riva to accommodate those sync requirements. The Riva administrator needs to move the user from the Internal Users policy to the Mobile Users policy.

To satisfy the user request, the admin needs to:

  1. Clear the synchronized data for the target user accounts.
  2. Move the users to the target sync policy.
  3. Inform the users of changes with how Riva will sync data between their CRM and email accounts.
Warning: These procedures involve re-initializing the target users and can be data-transfer intensive. If at all possible, this activity should be scheduled to occur during periods of minimal data synchronization. These procedures will wipe Riva synced data from target email accounts, so Riva administrators will need to coordinate this activity with the target users to warn them of the results.

Step 1: Clear the Synchronized Data for the Target User Accounts

These steps are used to clear the Riva-synced data from the target users that will be moved:

  1. Ensure that the Riva CRM Monitor application is open.

  2. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies.

  3. In the right pane, open the source sync policy that the users being moved are currently assigned to.

  4. Select the General tab. On the General page, confirm that the target users being moved at assigned to this policy.

  5. Select the Sync Start Time tab. Select the users to be moved. At the bottom, select Clear, and ensure that All is displayed in the re-initialize drop-down list.

  6. Save the CRM sync policy.

    Riva clears the synced data from the target users on the next full sync cycle.

  7. In the Riva CRM Monitor application, look for clear operation errors in the target user Monitor windows.

    This is expected and normal for a Clear re-initialize sync.

Step 2: Move the Users from the Source Policy to the Target Policy

Warning: These steps remove Riva-synced data from target user email accounts and from mobile devices.

This process does not remove category names, address books, or the existing SmartConvert drop folder structure from email accounts. The empty address books and SmartConvert drop folder structure remain, so that target users will need instructions on how to manually remove those items.

New category names, address books, and a SmartConvert drop folder structure will be synchronized to the target accounts.

To move the users from the source policy to the target policy:

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, open the source CRM sync policy.

  2. Select the General tab. On the General page, remove the target users that are to be moved to the target CRM sync policy. Ensure that the Enabled check box is selected. Save the source CRM sync policy.

  3. On the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, open the target CRM sync policy.

  4. Select the General tab. On the General page, add the target users that are to be moved from the source sync policy to the target sync policy. Ensure that the Enabled check box is selected. Save the target CRM sync policy.

Step 3: Inform Moved Users of Sync Changes

When the moved users are syncing, their CRM sync policy will sync only the items determined by the target sync policy. The sync pattern (way of handling synced email items) may change, especially if advanced settings for BlackBerry, iPad, iPhone, Android, and ActiveSync mobile devices are configured in the target sync policy; and the category and address book names, and SmartConvert drop folder names will be different.

Riva admins need to provide clear instructions to users about the corresponding changes with syncing data, and how Riva works on mobile devices (if applicable), and which items can be safely removed from their email client application.

Applies to

  • Riva On-Premise for Exchange and IBM Notes.



Article ID: 455
Last updated: 01 Feb, 2017
Revision: 2
Views: 6408
Also read
item Error after user moved: Sync aborting - conflicting entity detected

Prev     Next
Move Exchange or Notes Users to Another Sync Policy That Uses...       Move Target Email Users to a Duplicate Sync Policy


Back to Top