Move Exchange or Notes Users to Another Sync Policy That Uses Identical Category Names

Article ID: 454
Last updated: 31 Dec, 2019

Riva can support running multiple sync policies at the same time. It is common for organizations' Riva administrators to create and manage sync policies to meet the unique data sync needs for specific groups of users, for example a sync policy for internal users and a different sync policy for mobile users. A user may need to be moved from one policy to another. For example, a user is being provided with a smart phone and tablet device and needs Riva to accommodate those sync requirements. The Riva administrator needs to move the user from the "Internal Users" policy to the "Mobile Users" policy.

In this article:

  • the source sync policy is the policy that the users to be moved are currently assigned to. In our example, that is the Internal Users policy.

  • the target sync policy is the policy that the users will be moved to. In our example, that is the Mobile Users policy.

Warnings:
  • These procedures involve working with two policies. Ensure that both policies are DISABLED until you are instructed to enable them, one at a time. If both policies are enabled too soon, Riva may create duplicate items in the CRM and/or email systems.
  • Do not re-initialize any of the users, unless you are instructed to.

To satisfy the user request, the admin needs to:

  1. Disable the source and target sync policies.
  2. Move the user to the target sync policy.
  3. Enable the source sync policy, and confirm that the users are syncing.
  4. Enable the target sync policy, and confirm that the moved users are syncing.
  5. Inform the moved users of changes with how Riva will sync data between their CRM and email accounts.

Step 1: Disable the Source and Target Sync Policies

These steps are used to disable the source and target sync policies that will be modified:

  1. Ensure that the Riva Service Monitor application is open.

  2. In the Riva Manager application, right-click the source policy, and select Disable.

    Result: Riva stops syncing the users in this sync policy. The state for those users will show as "PolicyStopped" in the Riva Service Monitor.

  3. Right-click the target policy, and select Disable.

    Result: Riva stops syncing the users in this sync policy. The state for those users will show as "PolicyStopped" in the Riva Service Monitor.

  4. Close the Riva Service Monitor.

Step 2: Move the Users to the Target Policy

These steps are used to move the users from the source policy to the target policy. This involves moving the transaction files for the desired users.

Note: There is normally no need to re-initialize the users being moved. The following process will move the users to the target policy. After the target policy is enabled, syncing will resume for the moved users according to the target policy sync options. If there is a need to re-initialize the users, the instructions in this article will make it clear.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, double-click the target sync policy.

  2. On the General page, while pressing the CTRL key, double-click the Name: label.

    Result: Windows Explorer displays the transaction folder structure for the target policy.

  3. Close the policy edit window for the target sync policy.

  4. In Windows Explorer, navigate to the Lookup folder.

    Expected result: You can see folders that match the primary email address of each user assigned to the target policy, for example for the user rhicks@dev03-ex07.com there would be a folder named RHICKS$DEV03-EX07$COM.

    Leave Windows Explorer open.

  5. In the Riva Manager application, open the source sync policy.

  6. On the General page, while pressing the CTRL key, double-click the Name: label.

    Result: Windows Explorer displays the transaction folder structure for the source policy.

  7. Close the policy edit window for the source sync policy.

  8. In the Windows Explorer window that you just opened, navigate to the Lookup folder.

    Expected result: You can see folders that match the primary email address of each user assigned to the source sync policy.

  9. Move the folders for the applicable users from the source policy Lookup folder to the target policy Lookup folder.

    NOTE: Ensure that the user folders are moved and not copied. If the folders are copied, there will be two policies with the same users and duplicate items will be created in the CRM and email systems after data sync is enabled.

  10. Close both Windows Explorer windows.

  11. In the Riva Manager application, open the source sync policy.

  12. On the General page, remove the users whose folders you have moved to the target sync policy Lookup folder. Ensure that the Enabled check box is not selected. Save the source sync policy.

  13. In the Riva Manager application, open the target sync policy.

  14. On the General page, add the users that that you removed from the source sync policy. Ensure that the Enabled check box is not selected. Save the target sync policy.

Step 3: Enable the Source Sync Policy

The following steps are used to enable the source CRM sync policy and confirm that the correct users are syncing.

  1. Open the Riva Service Monitor application. If the Riva Service Monitor application is already open, close and reopen it.

  2. In the Riva Manager application, right-click the source sync policy, and select Enable.

  3. In the Riva Service Monitor application, confirm that the users in the modified source sync policy are syncing:

    • The user accounts' state should change to Synchronizing.

    • Sync activities should be visible in the user activity monitor windows.

    • The users that were removed from this policy should not resume syncing.

Step 4: Enable the Target Sync Policy

The following steps are used to enable the target sync policy and confirm that the correct users are syncing.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, right-click the target sync policy, and select Enable.

  2. In the Riva Service Monitor application, confirm that the users in the target sync policy are syncing.

    • The user accounts' state should change to Synchronizing.

    • Sync activities should be visible in the user activity monitor windows.

    • The users that were added to this policy should resume syncing.

  3. If you see the error "Skipping conflicting entities", double-check that all the above steps have been completed accurately.

    • If you are unsure, contact the Riva Success Team.

    • If you are certain that the steps have been completed accurately, do as follows as part of re-initializing the users:

      1. Double-click the target policy to edit it.

      2. Select the users that were moved.

      3. Set Modules to All.

      4. Set Categories to All.

      5. Set Type to Override Conflicting Policy Safety.

      6. If a Policy Save Change Detection window appears, select Yes.

Step 5: Inform the Moved Users of the Sync Changes

When the moved users are syncing, their sync policy will sync only the items specified in the target sync policy settings. Items that were previously synced when the user was assigned to the source sync policy will no longer be synced by Riva, unless they are specified in the target policy. In addition, the sync pattern (the way of handling synced email items) may change, especially if advanced policies for mobile devices are configured in the target sync policy.

Riva admins need to provide clear instructions to the moved users about

  • the corresponding changes with syncing data,
  • how Riva works on mobile devices (if applicable), and
  • which items can be safely removed from their email client application.

Applies to

  • Riva On-Premise for Exchange and HCL Notes.



Article ID: 454
Last updated: 31 Dec, 2019
Revision: 6
Views: 7094
Also read
item Advanced Settings for Apple, Android, BlackBerry, and Other ActiveSync Mobile Devices
item Move Target Email Users to a Duplicate Sync Policy
item Move Target Exchange or Notes Users to another Sync Policy Using Different Category Names

Prev     Next
Manage Users in Riva Sync Policies for Exchange and IBM Notes       Move Target Exchange or Notes Users to another Sync Policy Using...


Back to Top