Move Target Email Users to a Duplicate Sync Policy

Article ID: 453
Last updated: 02 Feb, 2017

When organizations first set up Riva On-Premise, there can be a tendency to add all the users to a single CRM synchronization policy. At some point in the future, Riva administrators may want to create additional CRM sync policies for special groups of target users, for example "BES Mobile Users". These procedures will allow the Riva administrator to create and configure new policies to best suit the sync needs for specific target users.

Procedures for moving users between existing CRM sync policies:

Scenario

For this scenario, a user wants to prevent phone calls from syncing between their CRM account and their Exchange mailbox. Their target user is currently assigned to a CRM policy that syncs phone calls. To satisfy the user's request, the admin needs to:

  1. Duplicate an existing CRM sync policy to create a new policy.
  2. Configure the new policy to not sync phone calls.
  3. Move the user to the new sync policy.
  4. Enable the "source" sync policy and confirm that target users syncing.
  5. Enable the "new" sync policy and confirm moved target users are syncing.
  6. Instruct the moved users to delete unwanted items from their email and/or CRM accounts.

Warning: These procedures involve working with two policies with the same target users. One policy is the "source" policy that is currently in use, and the other is a duplicate "new" policy. Ensure that both policies are DISABLED until all steps are completed. If both policies are enabled too soon, Riva may create duplicate items in the target CRM and/or email systems. In addition, do not re-initialize any of the target users.

Step 1: Duplicate a CRM Sync Policy

These steps are used to create a new CRM sync policy based on a "source" policy. Riva administrators can create a new CRM sync policy if they do not want to create a duplicate of an existing policy.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, locate the CRM sync policy that will act as the "source" policy to be used to duplicate a new policy.

  2. Right-click the "source" policy, and select Duplicate.

    This creates a disabled copy of the source policy with the same policy settings and target users. This policy will be referred to as the "new" policy. Although the target users are included in the duplicate policy, the transaction records are not duplicated. (It helps to understand how Riva maintains transaction records.) It is important NOT TO ENABLE this policy, until specified in the procedures in this article.

Step 2: Configure the New Policy

This procedure can be used to modify the "duplicate" CRM sync policy. The duplicate policy should be modified to sync in the desired manner before moving users into it.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, right-click the "duplicate" CRM sync policy, and choose Edit.

  2. On the General page, change the name of the duplicate policy, and add a suitable description. From the Exchange Accounts list, remove the target users that will not be assigned to this policy. Only the target users that are being moved from the "source" policy should remain on this list. Ensure that the Enabled check box is cleared (not selected).

  3. On the Sync Start Date page, ensure that the Re-Initialize All option is cleared.

  4. Work through all pages in the sync policy, and make any desired changes. Do not change category or folder names.

  5. After making all your changes, select the General tab. Ensure that the Enabled check box is cleared.

  6. Save the "new" policy. If prompted, do NOT restart the sync service.

Step 3: Move the Users to the New Policy

These steps are used to move the users from the "source" policy to the "duplicate" policy. This involves moving the transaction files for the desired users. (It helps to understand how Riva maintains transaction records.)

Note: There is no need to re-initialize the users being moved. The following process moves the user to the "duplicate" policy, and after the policy is enabled, syncing resumes and uses the sync options of the "duplicate" policy.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, edit the "duplicate" sync policy.

  2. On the General page, press the CTRL key and double-click the Name label.

    Windows Explorer displays the transaction folder structure for the "duplicate" policy.

  3. Close the policy edit window for the "duplicate" sync policy.

  4. In Windows Explorer, navigate to the Lookup folder.

    You should see folders that match the primary email address of each target user that was originally listed in the policy. For example, for the user rhicks@example.com, there would be a folder named RHICKS$EXAMPLE$COM. If you were to open one of those folders, you would see that it contains a single Entity.settings file.

  5. In the Lookup folder, remove all of the user folders. Leave Windows Explorer open.

  6. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right-pane, edit the "source" sync policy.

  7. On the General page, press the CTRL key and double-click the Name label.

    Windows Explorer displays the transaction folder structure for the "source" policy.

  8. Close the policy edit window for the "source" sync policy.

  9. In Windows Explorer, navigate to the Lookup folder.

    You should see folders that match the primary email address of each target user that was originally listed in the policy. If you were to open one of those folders, you would see that it contains many metadata and metadata-journal files.

  10. Navigate back to the Lookup folder for the "source" sync policy. Move the folders for the desired target users to the empty Lookup folder of the "new" sync policy.

    NOTE: Ensure that the target user folders are moved — not copied. If the folders are unfortunately copied, there would be two policies with the same target user, which would create duplicate items in the CRM and email systems when data sync is enabled.

  11. Close both Windows Explorer windows.

  12. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, edit the "source" sync policy.

  13. On the General page, remove the target users that have been moved to the "duplicate" sync policy.

  14. Save the "source" sync policy.

Step 4: Enable the "Source" CRM Sync Policy

These steps are used to enable the "source" sync policy and confirm that the correct users are synchronizing.

  1. If the Riva CRM Monitor application is open, close it, and reopen it.

  2. In the Riva Manager application, on the Policies page, right-click the "source" CRM sync policy, and select Enable.

  3. In the Riva CRM Monitor application, confirm that only the target users from the modified "source" sync policy are synchronizing: confirm that the user accounts' "state" changes to Synchronizing and that the sync activities are visible in the user activity monitor windows.

Step 5: Enable the "Duplicate" CRM Sync Policy

These steps are used to enable the "duplicate" sync policy and confirm that the correct users are synchronizing.

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies. In the right pane, right-click the "duplicate" sync policy, and select Enable.

  2. In the Riva CRM Monitor application, confirm that only the target users from the "duplicate" sync policy are synchronizing: confirm that the user accounts' "state" changes to Synchronizing and that the sync activities are visible in the user activity monitor windows.

Step 6: Instruct the Moved Users to Delete Unwanted Items

When the "moved" users are syncing, their CRM sync policy will sync items only according to the new policy settings. Items that were previously synced when the user was assigned to the "source" policy will no longer be synced by Riva, unless they are also specified in the new policy. For example, in the case scenario, the RHICKS user will have phone calls in his email client calendar which can be safely removed without affecting the phone call items in the CRM. As the user schedules phone calls in the CRM, they will no longer sync to the user's email account and will not be visible in their email client.

Riva admins need to provide clear instructions to users about which items can be safely removed from their email client application.

Applies to

  • Riva On-Premise for any supported email system.



Article ID: 453
Last updated: 02 Feb, 2017
Revision: 4
Views: 7001
Also read
item Error after user moved: Sync aborting - conflicting entity detected
item Understand How Riva Maintains Transaction Records

Prev     Next
Move Target Exchange or Notes Users to another Sync Policy Using...       Migrating Users from GroupWise to Exchange: How to Reconfigure...


Back to Top