Manage Users & Re-Initialization (2.4.47 & Higher)

Article ID: 1703
Last updated: 28 Feb, 2019
This article applies to Riva On-Premise 2.4.47 or higher.

Riva On-Premise includes sync policy re-initialization options.

Contents:

User Management Tasks

This section applies to Riva On-Premise 2.4.47 or higher.

Use the tool bar to activate user management tasks. For information on an icon, click or tap it on the following screen shot.

Re-init Options Save Changes User Advanced Options Save Selected Clear Next Sync and Save Selected View Entity Settings Rename User Reset User List Select users from tx or csv file
  • Edit Re-init Options: See How to re-initialize users.

  • Save Changes: Saves options set to multiple users.

  • User Advanced Options: Opens the Entity Advanced Options window, where advanced or custom options can be applied against specific users.
    For tips and instructions on how to use the window, see Best practice.

  • Save Selected: Saves the changes only to the users that are selected.

  • Clear Next Sync & Save Selected: Removes the next scheduled sync value for the selected users. This is a quick way to force users to sync after the sync policy is saved.

  • View Entity Settings: Use this option to view the entity.settings file that confirms the next scheduled sync time, entity name (usually the email address), and re-init mode if set. This enables Riva admins to confirm the current entity settings for a specific user.

  • Rename User: Use this option to properly rename a user in a sync policy. For more information, see How to rename a user.

  • Reset User List: Removes all of the options set against users on the list. This is really handy if a global mistake has been made.
    Tip: If changes need to be set for a later time, do not use Reset User List. Instead, select the Run after selected time button.

  • Select users from txt/csv file: Instead of selecting users one by one from the list of users, create a .txt or .csv file that contains all the users that you want to select.
    Format: One email address per line.
    What to do: When the file is ready, select this icon. In the Select File window that opens, navigate to the .txt or .csv file, select it, and click or tap Open.
    Result: The users listed in the file are validated against the policy and selected.

    What's next: You can now process the selected users.

How to Re-Initialize Users

This section applies to Riva 2.4.47 or higher.

What are re-initialization options?

To set the re-initialization options in Riva 2.4.47 or higher:

  1. Start the Riva Manager application. On the menu bar, select Policies.

  2. In the right pane, double-click the desired sync policy to edit it.

  3. In the Edit CRM Synchronization Policy window that appears, select the Re-Initialize or Sync Start Time tab.

    Note: In sync policies created in Riva 2.4.46 or higher, the Re-Initialize page replaces the Sync Start Time page.

  4. In the large list box, select Load Users.

  5. When the list of users appears, select one or more users by doing one of the following:

    • Above the list box, select the icon Select users from txt/csv file to select users from a .txt or .csv file; or

    • In the list box, select the check box to the left of one or more users; or

    • Below the list box, select the Select All check box.

  6. Select the pencil icon.

    Result: The Re-Initialize Users window appears.

Re-Initialize Users

  1. In the Re-Initialize Users window, fill out the fields as follows:

    • Modules: Select the syncing module to apply the re-init option to. To apply the re-init option to all syncing modules, select All.

    • Category: Select the category that the re-init option belongs to. If you do not know which category, select All.

    • Type: Select the desired option. For information on each option, see Types of re-initialization.

    • [Run buttons]: Indicate when the re-initialization is to take place.

      • Run next sync cycle: This is the default selection.

      • Run after scheduled time:

        • The re-init option is run in the first available spot for a sync cycle after the scheduled time. Delays can be introduced by Riva maintenance tasks or other sync cycles that need to be completed first.

        • Multiple re-init options can be scheduled and queued, but any given user can appear in only one of them.

        • To schedule the time, you can select the month, day, year, etc. individually and edit it. At the far right of the time field, you can also use the date picker.

  2. Select OK to view the list of changes about to be made. Verify that they are correct.

    Depending on which re-init option was selected, other actions may be required in the Edit CRM Synchronization Policy window before saving the policy.

    Example: You may need to set advanced options for the selected users.

    Be sure to refer to the documentation that explains how to use that re-init option.

  3. If other actions are required in the Edit CRM Synchronization Policy window and you have finished performing them, select Save.

  4. Enable the policy.

    Result: The re-initialization option is applied against every selected user. The timing depends on the selected Run button.

Applies to

  • Riva On-Premise 2.4.47 or higher for Exchange, IBM Notes, and Google.



Article ID: 1703
Last updated: 28 Feb, 2019
Revision: 11
Views: 6450
Prev     Next
Re-Initialize Page in Riva Sync Policies Created in Version...       Re-Initialization Options


Back to Top