Fix for Dynamics CRM Privilege Error "prvSyncToOutlook"

Article ID: 1036
Last updated: 31 Jan, 2018

Issue

In Riva Cloud or Riva On-Premise, Dynamics CRM versions supported by the latest Riva connection may experience the following error:

[Cycle] Error occurred starting sync: [SchedulePostpone] Following errors occurred found in user's privileges: Privilege: prvSyncToOutlook. Message: Current user has [Sync to Outlook] privilege and cannot be synced by Riva. Please disable the privilege from the user's Security Role(s). [Business Management]->[Sync to Outlook].

Challenge

Using multiple synchronization systems (in this case, the Microsoft Dynamics Outlook plug-in and Riva for Dynamics) to synchronize the same system often causes duplicate records.

To prevent errors and duplicates, by default, the 'Security Roles' assigned to each user are checked to automatically confirm if the user's Sync to Outlook privilege is enabled; if so, the privilege prevents data sync from occurring.

See Adjusting the Dynamics CRM Security Role to disable 'Sync to Outlook'.

In some cases, disabling the 'Sync to Outlook' role is not an option (for example, the default Administrator Role). It is absolutely critical that the users currently being synchronized do NOT use the Outlook plug-in or any other synchronization solutions concurrently.

See Disabling the Dynamics CRM Security Role check for 'Sync to Outlook'.

Adjusting the Dynamics CRM Security Role to disable 'Sync to Outlook'

The CRM administrator can modify the user's assigned Security Role to disable the "Sync to Outlook" privilege:

  1. Log in to the CRM as an administrator.

  2. Select Settings > Administration > Security Roles.

  3. Select the affected user's security role.

  4. In the Security Role window, select Business Management.

  5. Set the Sync to Outlook privilege to None Selected.

  6. Save the changes.

After this is set, the CRM user's installed plug-in no longer has the "Sync to Outlook" capability, because Riva always takes over this role.

Disabling the Dynamics CRM Security Role check for 'Sync to Outlook'

To disable it for Riva Cloud:

  1. On the Dashboard. The icon looks like a grey cloud., locate the Dynamics CRM icon, and select Edit.

  2. Under Additional Options, clear the Check user privileges before sync check box.

  3. Save the connection.

To disable it for Riva On-Premise:

  1. Start the Riva Manager application. On the menu bar, select Setup.

  2. In the right pane, double-click the CRM connection for Dynamics 2011+.

  3. In the window that appears, select the Options tab.

  4. Clear the Check user privileges before sync check box.

  5. Save the changes.



Article ID: 1036
Last updated: 31 Jan, 2018
Revision: 6
Views: 7263
Also listed in
private Riva Cloud - CRM Sync -> Already Started -> Manage Your CRM for Riva -> Microsoft Dynamics CRM -> Advanced Options & Settings

Prev     Next
Default Field Mappings for Microsoft Dynamics CRM       Dynamics CRM: Option to not Resync Deleted Email Contacts


Back to Top